The Commission advises Township policy to boards and staff on issues related to environmental protection, pollution prevention, and the preservation of natural areas. The Commission works to implement the Township’s Wetland Protection Ordinance and the Greenspace Plan.

The Environmental Commission consists of up to nine members, including two student members, appointed by the Township Board. Members have an interest or expertise in open space protection, natural resources and ecology.

The Commission meets monthly on the first Wednesday at 7:00 pm at the Municipal Building at 5151 Marsh Road, Okemos MI 48864.  Please check the meeting calendar for specific dates and times.


Term Expires 

 William McConnell (Chair)


  Marina Ionescu 


 James E. "Ned" Jackson


  J. James Kielbaso


  Susan Masten


  John Sarver



Environmental Commission Documents

Environmental Commission Agendas, Packets, Minutes and Green Theme Presentations