The Communications Commission advises the Township Board on matters related to video service franchise compliance with PA 480, Metro Act permitting, Telecommunications Rights of Way issues, DAS Communications, HOMTV Programming and Meridian Township Communications including print, digital, branding and marketing.

The Commission also is responsible for an annual budget derived from franchise fees and PEG fees paid to the Township for use of the Public Rights of Way to support the HOMTV Government Access Channel and CAMTV Regional Public Access Channel. The Commission may also hear informal complaints by residents against local video service providers and make recommendations to the Meridian Township Board for broadband, WiFi, internet and other such services in the Township.

The Communications Commission consists of five members appointed by the Township Supervisor who have experience or interest in communications and marketing. 

The Board meets every other month at 6:00 pm in the Administrative Conference Room at the Municipal Building at 5151 Marsh Road, Okemos MI 48864.  Please check the meeting calendar for specific dates.


Term Expires

  Tunga Kiyak (Chair)


  Walter Benenson 


  Leslie Charles


  Brian Seipel


  Mike Nevells


  Deborah Guthrie (Alternate)


  Riti Adhi (Alternate)


  Kathy Ann Sundland (Board Liaison)



Communications Commission Agendas, Packets and Minutes