The Township Park Commission is an elected body of five (5) members created under MSA 5.2445 (11) to acquire and manage parks and recreation facilities on behalf of the Township. Park Commissioners each serve four-year terms.

On August 5, 2014, a general election ballot proposal was passed to fund activities intended to enhance and maintain community parks. The millage was renewed at a rate of 2/3 mill ($0.6667 on each $1000 of taxable value) in property tax. The millage will run for a period of twelve (12) years, 2014 through 2025 inclusive. It will raise approximately $1,042,000 to support much needed park improvements, renovation projects, maintenance, and operations, as outlined in the 2014-2019 Capital Improvement Plan. The Park Commission and the Director of Parks and Recreation oversee this fund.

The Park Commission has authority to acquire, maintain, manage and control Township parks and places of recreation. It may accept, in the name of the Township, gifts and grants of land suitable for parks and places of recreation. Acceptable are gifts and bequests of funds for the acquisition and improvement of land for these purposes.

The Commission has the authority to sell and convey any portions of land acquired that are not needed for park purposes on whatever terms the Park Commission may deem proper, subject to the approval of the Township Board.


Term Expires 

 Michael McDonald (Chair)


 Amanda A. Lick (Vice Chair)


 Mark Stephens


 Mary Nardo Farris


 Ami Van Antwerp



Park Commission Documents

Park Commission Agendas, Packets and Minutes